Dynamic Digital Dreams

My good friend Adam ‘Kemek’ Douglas has made me the honor of picking one of my drawings as the cover of his latest release, Dynamic Digital Dreams.

I did this drawing a while ago, along with a few others depicting people waiting for friends in front of Hachiko, the iconic statue of the dog of the same name, in Shibuya, that many people use as a meeting spot. The series was an interesting exercise, trying to draw characters from a near future, showing both technological evolutions but also the societal ones Japan may display in a few years, notably a more and more multiracial population, as indicated by the fact that foreigners in Japan have more than doubled over the last 20 years.

I’ll post that series here in a while, I just need to get back to it and finish it (like many others…).

For those curious, I made the illustration on an iPad Pro 9.7″, using the Procreate app, and I did the text pass on PC with Photoshop CC.

Also, yeah, of course this drawing is a massive nod to Perfume. 😉

Leave a Reply

